Ok, my dad chided me recently for not providing more baby related updates. I swear I've been meaning to post more but pregnancy has been getting in the way. Let's see... my last post was the big announcement and the discovery story. That was at pregnancy week 4. From week 4 to week 8 not much happened except that I started getting really tired all of the time. I'm talking "I took three benadryl and washed them down with Nyquil so should I really be trying to function" tired. I did not actually take benadryl or Nyquil, this is just to put the grogginess in perspective.
Side note: If you know me at all then you know that immediately upon baby discovery I ran out for research materials. I picked up the must-have, basic pregnancy guides and proceeded to read about 4 months ahead. Thus, I was immediately aware that I should not be taking Nyquil or Benadryl.
Morning sickness kicked in at about week 7 and lasted until about week 12. I did not actually every throw up, although I did sprint to the bathroom at home and at work a few times. I absolutely HATE throwing up and I think this prevented me from ever actually vomiting. I just felt really nauseous all of the time. I had almost no appetite but when I did eat all I wanted was Baked Lays potato chips or popcorn. I definitely got some weird looks at work when I ate chips at 9am and I irritate many of my co-workers by microwaving popcorn in the office area all of the time. Poor Jason wasn't getting much in the way of home cooked meals at this point since I had no appetite and no energy to either cook or go grocery shopping. I brought home lots of take out, pizza and Burgerville on my way home from work for him. Once I got home I would immediately fall asleep, usually from about 5-6:30 or 7pm. I would wake up, eat some toast and then fall asleep again by 8pm.
Week 8 was a great week because we had our first doctor's appointment and we got to see the baby.
That white blob in the black that kind of looks like a Hawaiian see turtle is Baby Rosenberger's first picture. I can't tell you how amazing that moment was. Jason and I were really happy and excited and for the first time the baby seemed real.
Week 12 we had our second doctor's appointment and all was well. We got to hear the baby's heart beat for the first time and boy was that tiny heart beating fast! Jason was going to try to record the sound but the nurse found it so quickly that he didn't have time to get his iPhone recorder set up before we became transfixed by the sound of our baby's heartbeat.
I'm at 14 weeks today and feeling a lot better. I still go to bed around 8:30pm but I'm not exhausted at work all of the time and my appetite is back in full force. I've always been a fan of pickles but lately I can't get enough. I really enjoy the pickled veggie mixes with cauliflower, peppers, onions and other weird stuff.
Jason did take a picture of my tiny baby pooch at 12 weeks and I'll post that this weekend, along with a 14 week picture of the belly. In the 12 week picture I just look bloated but I've definitely got the beginnings a baby bump now.
We will be finding out the sex of our baby on Mar 16 so stay tuned for that big update. Until then we probably won't be making any plans for baby names, nursery decor, etc. I'll just be getting bigger and bigger! We have another appointment on Feb 16 and I promise we'll record the heart beat then for posting.
This whole growing a human being thing is really strange and crazy and special and I'm loving it.
Team Rosenberger
A guy, a gal, the world's cutest baby boy, four sweet kitties and thousands of books
Friday, January 28, 2011
Monday, January 17, 2011
Big News...
This is a post I typed up almost two months ago. I've been saving it until we were ready to go public. Here it is.
I'm pregnant!
Last Wed (11/24/2010) I woke up a little before 6:30am and took a home pregnancy test. I played with our new kitten Nermal for a few minutes then went back in to check the test and couldn't believe it actually read "Pregnant!" Jason had moved in to the guest bedroom at some point during the night because Nermal was being noisy and keeping him awake so I went in to wake him up for the day. The following is a brief transcription of me breaking the news to him.
Me (quietly): It's time to wake up sweetie. It's 6:30.
Him: Hmmmgrrmmg
Me: Want to cuddle for a few minutes before you get up?
Him: Hmmmgrrmmg
Me: I love you.
Him: Hmmmgrrmmg
Me (cuddling up to his back): I think I might be pregant.
Note: This is not something new for me to say, I said this repeatedly on our honeymoon, which is when we officially started trying. Jason got used to it, just smiling and nodding to humor me.
Him: Yeah?
Me: Yeah, I just took a pregnancy test and it said I was pregant.
Him (rolling over quickly and looking at me with a big smile): Really?
Me: Yes.
Him (in cocky swagger voice): That's how you do it!
There followed a brief period of hugging and laughing.
Then he got up and I went to go take the second pregnancy test just to make sure it wasn't a false positive. Except I'd bought this cheap digital pregnancy test that has you replace the pee strip but reuse the digital readout/holder thing and the digital readout doesn't reset for an hour!!! I ran out of the bathroom, where Jason had been waiting for confirmation of his impending fatherhood, and explained that I had to go find a store that was open and had pregancy tests before we both went to work (him at 7 and me at 7:30).
It's was about 6:40 so I threw some clothes on and drove to the corner market. No pregnancy tests there! I drove to Albertson's, open at 6am, but they keep the pregancy tests in the pharmacy which opens at 9. Drove to Fred Meyers, which doesn't open until 7am. Drove to Target, doesn't open until 8. Drove to Safeway and jackpot!!! The store was open and had pregancy tests so I bought two different kinds and drove home to take them. I made it home by 7 and Jason was still there, waiting. Except that now I didn't have to pee. So he went to work, I went to work and I took two pregnancy tests once I got to work. Both said pregnant and I texted Jason the good news!!!
And that's how we found out I was pregnant.
I'm pregnant!
Last Wed (11/24/2010) I woke up a little before 6:30am and took a home pregnancy test. I played with our new kitten Nermal for a few minutes then went back in to check the test and couldn't believe it actually read "Pregnant!" Jason had moved in to the guest bedroom at some point during the night because Nermal was being noisy and keeping him awake so I went in to wake him up for the day. The following is a brief transcription of me breaking the news to him.
Me (quietly): It's time to wake up sweetie. It's 6:30.
Him: Hmmmgrrmmg
Me: Want to cuddle for a few minutes before you get up?
Him: Hmmmgrrmmg
Me: I love you.
Him: Hmmmgrrmmg
Me (cuddling up to his back): I think I might be pregant.
Note: This is not something new for me to say, I said this repeatedly on our honeymoon, which is when we officially started trying. Jason got used to it, just smiling and nodding to humor me.
Him: Yeah?
Me: Yeah, I just took a pregnancy test and it said I was pregant.
Him (rolling over quickly and looking at me with a big smile): Really?
Me: Yes.
Him (in cocky swagger voice): That's how you do it!
There followed a brief period of hugging and laughing.
Then he got up and I went to go take the second pregnancy test just to make sure it wasn't a false positive. Except I'd bought this cheap digital pregnancy test that has you replace the pee strip but reuse the digital readout/holder thing and the digital readout doesn't reset for an hour!!! I ran out of the bathroom, where Jason had been waiting for confirmation of his impending fatherhood, and explained that I had to go find a store that was open and had pregancy tests before we both went to work (him at 7 and me at 7:30).
It's was about 6:40 so I threw some clothes on and drove to the corner market. No pregnancy tests there! I drove to Albertson's, open at 6am, but they keep the pregancy tests in the pharmacy which opens at 9. Drove to Fred Meyers, which doesn't open until 7am. Drove to Target, doesn't open until 8. Drove to Safeway and jackpot!!! The store was open and had pregancy tests so I bought two different kinds and drove home to take them. I made it home by 7 and Jason was still there, waiting. Except that now I didn't have to pee. So he went to work, I went to work and I took two pregnancy tests once I got to work. Both said pregnant and I texted Jason the good news!!!
And that's how we found out I was pregnant.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
