In mid August Debbie and I were having lunch at Gathering Together Farm and bemoaning our mutual chubbiness. We came up with the idea to start a biggest loser club and found a few other like-minded girls to form The Fat Chick Biggest Loser Club, aka Fat Club, Chubb Club, etc. On Tuesdays we all weigh in, calling out our weight for the room to hear and then we do some sort of activity together. For the past 4 or 5 weeks we've been going on a run together, either before or after weigh-in. I've been eating better but really haven't stepped up my workout game much and this was readily apparent last night, at the half-way point weigh in.
We've been at it for 12 weeks now and Allyson and I have lost ~3 lbs each, Ashley and Candace have both lost ~5 and Debbie is about the same as when we started. This whole fat club thing is sort of a competition, we all put money into the pot to join and every week we add a dollar for weigh in fees and we pay a dollar for every pound we gain, so the pot's up to about $225 and we've got some weird rules about winning, but needless to say at least one is going to win the pot. If more than one person wins the pot, they split it evenly. The pot will probably be around $300 by the time we finish and for monetary reasons and a sense of pride I'd like to be a winner.
Winning (for me) means working out regularly, eating right and hitting my somewhat ambitious, but still reasonable, goal weight. Last night I realized I need to step up my game if I want to be a contender. To that effect, I finally got up early and went to the gym for a weights workout and today at lunch I'll squeeze in a short run with Ashley. I'm not going to tell any of the other girls I'm doing double workouts so we'll see if I can surprise then with my next few weigh ins! It's on!!!
Plus, it would be really nice to be in shape when I finally get around to getting pregnant....
No comments:
Post a Comment